Dakar

Rally Dakar History

Back in 1979, 182 teams started into a rally that has remained until today one of the biggest adventures you can experience on planet earth – the Dakar Rally. Founder of the today legendary event was Frenchman Thierry Sabine who himself had got lost in the desert during a rally in the past and needed several days to find his way back to the civilisation. Sabine chose France’s capital Paris as venue of the start and from there, the route took the competitors to Senegal’s capital Dakar. The name Paris – Dakar was born and has survived until today – although only 17 of the 35 Dakar Rallies contested to date really took the competitors from Paris to Dakar.

Luc Alphand / Matthew Stevenson – BMW X3CC

In the following years, the enthusiasm for desert adventure increased consistently and the first manufacturers began to show interest in the event. As early as in 1986, the Dakar field featured the first prototypes. In that year, however, the racing aspects proved to be of minor importance: Thierry Sabine died in a helicopter crash while searching for a lost motorcyclist.

In 2001 a German woman upstaged everybody. At the wheel of a Mitsubishi, Jutta Kleinschmidt won the Dakar as the first and still only woman in the history of the sport – together with her German co-driver Andreas Schulz.

In 2008, the Paris – Dakar hit rock bottom due to the political situation in Africa that nearly made for the end of the desert rally. Just a day prior to the start in Portugal’s capital Lisbon, the organiser had to cancel the event due to terror threats of Al Qaida against the Dakar Rally and its competitors.

Due to the politically insecure situation, the organisers didn’t dare to return to the African continent and looked for a new venue. At the end of the day, they found it on the South American continent.

Stéphane Peterhansel / Jean-Paul Cottret – BMW X5CC

In a curious mood, the teams and drivers travelled to Buenos Aires – the start and finish point of the 2009 Dakar Rally – and were massively surprised. The population welcomed the Dakar with enormous enthusiasm and the start was witnessed live by a million of spectators along the track. Three years the route lead the competitors through Argentina and Chile – then in 2012 Peru became part of the Dakar for two years. In 2014, Bolivia was added to Argentina and Chile as host country. For the first time in Dakar-history Chile won’t be part of the route in 2016 due to the amount of natural disasters during 2015 the country suffers from. Also Peru withdrew from its Dakar participation in 2016 due to the heavy El Nino forecast and expected natural desasters.

X-raid Partners

  • MINI
  • John Cooper Works
  • Akrapovič
  • Argentina
  • Argentina Moto GP
  • BF Goodrich
  • Delta Q
  • Kärcher
  • MAGNA
  • RECARO
  • Reiger Suspension
  • Shell V-Power
  • Sparco S.p.A.
  • Vision Advisors
X-raid Partners

© 2018 X-RAID GMBH.

X-RAID GMBH

Dakar

Rallye Dakar Historie

Bereits 1979 starteten 182 Teams zu einer Rallye, die bis heute eines der größten Abenteuer der Welt ist – die Rallye Dakar. Gründer des heute legendären Ereignisses war der Franzose Thierry Sabine, der sich in der Vergangenheit bei einer Rallye in der Wüste verirrt hatte und mehrere Tage brauchte, um den Weg zurück in die Zivilisation zu finden. Sabine wählte die französische Hauptstadt Paris als Startort und von dort aus führte die Route die Teilnehmer in die senegalesische Hauptstadt Dakar. Der Name Paris – Dakar ist geboren und hat bis heute überlebt – obwohl nur 17 der 35 bisher ausgetragenen Dakar-Rallyes die Teilnehmer von Paris nach Dakar geführt haben.

Luc Alphand / Matthew Stevenson – BMW X3CC

In den folgenden Jahren nahm die Begeisterung für das Wüstenabenteuer stetig zu und die ersten Hersteller zeigten Interesse an der Veranstaltung. Schon 1986 gab es unter den Dakarteilnehmern die ersten Prototypen Fahrzeuge. In jenem Jahr erwies sich jedoch der Rennsport als unbedeutend: Thierry Sabine starb bei einem Hubschrauberabsturz auf der Suche nach einem verlorenen Motorradfahrer.

Im Jahr 2001 drängte eine deutsche Frau alle in den Hintergrund. Am Steuer eines Mitsubishi gewann Jutta Kleinschmidt die Dakar als erste und bis heute einzige Frau in der Geschichte des Sports – zusammen mit ihrem deutschen Beifahrer Andreas Schulz.

Im Jahr 2008 erreichte die Paris – Dakar ihren Tiefpunkt aufgrund der politischen Situation in Afrika, die beinahe das Ende der Wüstenrallye bedeutete. Nur einen Tag vor dem Start in der portugiesischen Hauptstadt Lissabon musste die der Veranstalter die Rallye wegen terroristischer Drohungen von Al Qaida gegen die Rallye Dakar und ihre Teilnehmer absagen.

Aufgrund der politisch unsicheren Situation trauten sich die Organisatoren nicht, auf den afrikanischen Kontinent zurückzukehren und suchten nach einem neuen Veranstaltungsort. Am Ende fanden Sie ihn auf dem südamerikanischen Kontinent.

Stéphane Peterhansel / Jean-Paul Cottret – BMW X5CC

In neugieriger Stimmung reisten die Teams und Fahrer nach Buenos Aires – dem Start- und Zielpunkt der Rallye Dakar 2009 – und wurden massiv überrascht. Die Bevölkerung begrüßte die Rallye Dakar mit großer Begeisterung, und der Start wurde von einer Million Zuschauern entlang der Strecke live miterlebt. Drei Jahre lang führte die Route die Teilnehmer durch Argentinien und Chile – dann wurde Peru 2012 für zwei Jahre Teil der Dakar. Im Jahr 2014 kam Bolivien als Gastgeberland zu Argentinien und Chile hinzu. Erstmals in der Dakar-Geschichte wird Chile 2016 aufgrund der großen Zahl von Naturkatastrophen im Jahr 2015 nicht auf der Strecke sein. Auch Peru zog sich 2016 aufgrund der schweren El-Nino-Prognose und der zu erwartenden Naturkatastrophen von seiner Teilnahme an der Dakar zurück.

X-raid Partner

  • MINI
  • John Cooper Works
  • Akrapovič
  • Argentina Moto GP
  • BF Goodrich
  • Delta Q
  • Kärcher
  • MAGNA
  • Primax
  • RECARO
  • Reiger Suspension
  • San Juan
  • Sparco S.p.A.
  • Vision Advisors
X-raid Partner

© 2018 X-raid Team.

X-raid Team