X-raid – 20 years of racing

X-raid – 20 years of racing

09/19/2022

20 years ago, the X-raid team was founded by Sven Quandt and started its business in Trebur on September 19th, 2002. Team X-raid was a matter close to his heart for the team founder. For many years, he himself sat behind the wheel at rallies or navigated as a co-pilot. At that time, the scene was still dominated by Japanese and French vehicles – Sven Quandt wanted to change that. His goal was to challenge the established teams with a German brand.

The decision to go with BMW marked the beginning of an extraordinary story. 20 years later, X-raid can look back on six Dakar victories, eleven overall wins in the FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies and three in the FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Bajas.

Sven Quandt: “The 20 years with X-raid passed almost in the blink of an eye. I still have good memories of the start with the first X5, but also of every single victory we have achieved as a team. It’s not only the successes or challenges that have stayed in my memory, but also all the special moments of the past years. They make the X-raid team what it is today! All employees and team members have done their part to establish us as a top team in international cross-country motorsport. I would like to thank you all for that.

Cross-country motorsport has been part of my life for almost half my life now. But my passion for this sport has not diminished. I am still burning to develop new vehicles and lead them to victory. I myself have been involved in off-road motorsport for 30 years. The first ten years actively as a driver and co-driver. Since 2002, I have been putting my energy into building up and developing the team with the aim of setting new limits with drivers and vehicles. It makes me proud that drivers like Carlos, Nani and Nasser drove for X-raid and that we were able to win the Dakar together, and of course Stéphane Peterhansel with whom we were even able to achieve three victories. They have been and will continue to be part of our big X-raid family.”

To last 20 years in motorsport is extraordinary. That’s why we have come up with something special for our fans. We associate a special anecdote with each of our vehicles – exciting, incredible and special stories that we always remember. In the coming weeks and months, you can look forward to cartoons that tell these experiences of our vehicles and drivers.

 

OUR DESERT RACERS

2002 – BMW X5

The development of the X-raid team began with the BMW X5.

In January 2003, the team was on the starting line of the Dakar Rally with two BMW X5 equipped with twin-turbo diesel technology!

 

2005 – BMW X3 CC

The experience X-raid had gained with the BMW X5 flowed into the construction of the BMW X3 CC in 2005.

With the new vehicle, X-raid finally established itself in off-road rallying. More and more drivers wanted to contest off-road rallies together with X-raid.

In addition, the team came steadily closer to the podium in the world’s toughest desert rally. Twice, X-raid secured fourth place with the BMW X3 CC.

2010 – MINI ALL4 Racing

When X-raid presented the MINI ALL4 Racing shortly before the Dakar 2011, it was a small sensation. On 6 December 2010, the MINI started its first roll out – just 90 days after the project launch.

The new off-road rally vehicle quickly captured the hearts of fans and became the most successful vehicle in the X-raid family.

On its tenth anniversary, X-raid took its first Dakar victory – three more successes followed in the following years.

2016 – MINI JCW Rally

In 2016, the new MINI Countryman was presented to the public. Based on the new model, the Dakar MINI was modified in numerous areas. For example, the headlights and silhouette of the production vehicle were adopted.

The new tubular steel frame made it possible to stow the third spare wheel in the lower part of the car. Space was created in the rear to place the cooling system lower and to move the centre of gravity further down.

2017 – MINI JCW Buggy

With the rear-wheel drive MINI JCW Buggy, X-raid ventured into new territory. Until 2017, the German team only competed with four-wheel drive vehicles.

The changes in the technical regulations strengthened the so-called buggies. In order to remain capable of winning, X-raid expanded its portfolio to include the MINI JCW Buggy.

In 2020 and 2021, X-raid took Dakar victories five and six with the Buggy.

2020 – Yamaha XYZ1000R prototype

The side-by-side is the youngest member of the X-raid family. The Yamaha XYZ1000R Prototype is the first vehicle of the German team that does not compete in the car class (T1).

In the up-and-coming SxS class, X-raid wants to offer professionals as well as amateur riders a fast and reliable vehicle in cooperation with Yamaha.

The first development version was already able to achieve second place in the T3.1 classification at its first Dakar participation in 2021. For the Dakar 2023, there are some extensive further developments, such as the new turbo engine.

OUR DAKAR WINNERS

Back to list

X-raid Partners

  • MINI
  • John Cooper Works
  • Akrapovič
  • BF Goodrich
  • Delta Q
  • Alfred Kärcher SE & Co. KG
  • NGK SPARK PLUG
  • RECARO
  • Reiger Suspension
  • Sparco S.p.A.
X-raid Partners

© 2022 X-raid Team.

X-raid Team

X-raid – 20 years of racing

X-raid – 20 years of racing

19.09.2022

Vor 20 Jahren wurde das X-raid Team von Sven Quandt gegründet und nahm am 19.September 2002 seine Geschäftstätigkeit in Trebur auf. Das Team X-raid war für den Gründer eine Herzensangelegenheit. Er saß selbst viele Jahre bei Rallyes am Steuer oder navigierte als Co-Pilot. Damals wurde die Szene noch von japanischen und französischen Fahrzeugen dominiert – das wollte Sven Quandt ändern. Sein Ziel war, mit einem deutschen Fabrikat, die etablierten Teams herauszufordern.

Mit der Entscheidung auf BMW zu setzen, begann eine außergewöhnliche Geschichte. 20 Jahre später kann X-raid auf sechs Dakar Siege, elf Gesamtsiege im FIA World Cup for Cross-Country-Rallies und drei im FIA World Cup for Cross-Country-Bajas zurückblicken.

Sven Quandt: „Die 20 Jahre mit X-raid sind fast wie im Flug vergangen. Ich erinnere mich noch gut und gerne an den Start mit dem ersten X5, aber auch an jeden einzelnen Sieg, den wir als Team errungen haben. Aber nicht nur die Erfolge oder Herausforderungen sind mir im Gedächtnis geblieben, sondern auch alle besonderen Momente der vergangenen Jahre. Sie machen das X-raid Team zu dem, was es heute ist! Alle Mitarbeiter und Teammitglieder haben ihren Teil dazu beigetragen, dass wir uns als Topteam im internationalen Cross-Country Motorsport etabliert haben. Dafür möchte ich mich bei Euch allen bedanken.

Fast mein halbes Leben lang ist der Cross-Country Motorsport nun Teil meines Lebens. Doch meine Leidenschaft für diesen Sport hat nicht nachgelassen. Ich brenne noch immer dafür neue Fahrzeuge zu entwickeln und zum Sieg zu führen. Ich selbst bin seit 30 Jahren im Offroad-Motorsport tätig. Die ersten zehn Jahre aktiv als Fahrer und Beifahrer. Seit 2002 stecke ich meine Energie in den Aufbau und die Weiternentwicklung des Teams mit dem Ziel mit Fahrern und Fahrzeugen neue Grenzen zu setzen. Es macht mich stolz, dass Fahrer wie Carlos, Nani und Nasser für X-raid gefahren sind und wir gemeinsam die Dakar gewinnen konnten und natürlich Stéphane, mit dem wir sogar drei Siege erringen konnten. Sie waren und bleiben weiterhin ein Teil unserer großen X-raid Familie.“

20 Jahre im Motorsport zu bestehen, ist außergewöhnlich. Daher haben wir uns für unsere Fans etwas Besonderes ausgedacht. Mit jedem unserer Fahrzeuge verbinden wir eine spezielle Anekdote – spannende, unglaubliche und besondere Geschichten, an die wir immer wieder zurückdenken. Freuen Sie sich in den kommenden Wochen und Monaten auf Cartoons, die diese Erlebnisse unserer Fahrzeuge und Fahrer erzählen.

 

UNSERE WÜSTENRENNER

2002 – BMW X5

Mit dem BMW X5 begann die Entwicklung des X-raid Teams.

Im Januar 2003 stand das Team mit zwei BMW X5 mit einer Twinturbo-Diesel-Technologie an der Startlinie der Rallye Dakar!

 

2005 – BMW X3 CC

Die Erfahrungen, die X-raid mit dem BMW X5 gesammelt hatte, flossen 2005 in den Bau des BMW X3 CC.

Mit dem neuen Fahrzeug etablierte sich X-raid endgültig im Offroadrallye-Sport. Immer mehr Piloten wollten zusammen mit X-raid Offroad-Rallyes bestreiten.

Zudem kam das Team dem Podium bei der härtesten Wüstenrallye der Welt immer näher. Zwei Mal sicherte sich X-raid mit dem BMW X3 CC den vierten Rang.

2010 – MINI ALL4 Racing

Als X-raid den MINI ALL4 Racing kurz vor der Dakar 2011 vorstellte, war das eine kleine Sensation. Am 6. Dezember 2010 startete der MINI zu seinem ersten Roll out – nur 90 Tage nach Projektstart.

Das neue Offroadrally-Fahrzeug eroberte schnell die Herzen der Fans und wurde zum erfolgreichsten Fahrzeug der X-raid Familie.

Zum zehnjährigen Jubiläum fuhr X-raid den ersten Dakar-Sieg ein – drei weitere Erfolge kamen in den folgenden Jahren hinzu.

2016 – MINI JCW Rally

2016 wurde der neue MINI Countryman der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Basierend auf dem neuen Modell wurde der Dakar MINI in zahlreichen Bereichen verändert. Zum Beispiel die Scheinwerfer und Silhouette des Serienfahrzeuges wurden übernommen.

Durch den neuen Stahlrohrrahmen konnte das dritte Reserverad im unteren Teil des Wagens verstaut werden. Im Heck entstand Platz, das Kühlsystem tiefer zu platzieren und den Schwerpunkt weiter nach unten zu verlagern.

2017 – MINI JCW Buggy

Mit dem heckangetriebenen MINI JCW Buggy wagte sich X-raid auf neues Terrain. Bis 2017 trat die deutsche Mannschaft nur mit allradbetriebenen Fahrzeugen an.

Die Änderungen im technischen Reglement stärkte die sogenannten Buggys. Um weiter siegfähig zu sein, erweiterte X-raid das Portfolio um den MINI JCW Buggy.

2020 und 2021 fuhr X-raid mit dem Buggy die Dakar-Siege fünf und sechs ein.

2020 – Yamaha XYZ1000R prototype

Das Side-by-side ist das jüngste Mitglied der X-raid Familie. Das Yamaha XYZ1000R Prototype ist das erste Fahrzeug des deutschen Teams, das nicht in der Auto-Klasse (T1) an den Start geht.

In der aufstrebenden SxS-Klasse will X-raid in Zusammenarbeit mit Yamaha Profis sowie Amateurpiloten ein schnelles und zuverlässiges Fahrzeug bieten.

Die erste Entwicklungsstufe konnte bereits bei der ersten Dakarteilnahme 2021 einen zweiten Platz in der T3.1 Wertung einfahren. Für die Dakar 2023 gibt es einige umfassende Weiterentwicklungen, wie zum Beispiel den neuen Turbomotor.

UNSERE DAKAR SIEGER

Zurück zur Übersicht

X-raid Partner

  • MINI
  • John Cooper Works
  • Akrapovič
  • BF Goodrich
  • Alfred Kärcher SE & Co. KG
  • NGK SPARK PLUG
  • RECARO
  • Reiger Suspension
  • Sparco S.p.A.
X-raid Partner

© 2022 X-raid Team.

X-raid Team